The Autorité de la concurrence fines the Ordre des Architectes for anticompetitive agreement

Published on October 01, 2019

Architectes

The Autorité de la concurrence hands out fines to the Ordre des Architectes for having distributed and enforced a fee schedule that architects had to apply in their responses to calls for tender to manage public works contracts.

Background

Following investigation reports by the Directorate General for Competition Policy, Consumer Affairs and Fraud Control (DGCCRF), the Autorité today issued a decision imposing a fine of €1.5 million on the Ordre des Architectes for having, through its regional councils in Hauts-de-France, Centre-Val de Loire, Occitanie and Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, implemented anticompetitive practices. They consisted in setting up, distribute and enforce a fee schedule applicable to architects responding to calls for tender for public works contracts in a sector where fees are unregulated. The distribution of this schedule was accompanied by a “fee policy”, retaliatory measures against architects who did not comply with these instructions and contacts with public contracting authorities to dissuade them from contracting with architects offering fees considered “too low”. The Ordre also circulated, through its national council, a standard form to the regional councils to use to refer an architect or architectural firm to the regional disciplinary boards in the event they failed to comply with the unlawful schedule.

The Autorité also imposed a fine of one euro on several architectural firm and architects as well as an association of architects who participated in the agreement through denunciations to the Ordre of their colleagues who did not comply with the “fee schedule”.

Managing public works

Management of public works consists in carrying out, on behalf of a public contracting authority (municipality, community of municipalities, département, etc.), a project of works under conditions of time, quality and/or costs defined in advance by a set of specifications.

As managers of public works, architects are entrusted by the public contracting authority with the design of the project, the preparation of the consultation file of the companies, the supervision of the proper execution of the works and the role of interface with the companies entrusted with the execution of the works. Their fees are not regulated by the public authority, thus ensuring competition on the market.

Distribution of fee instructions to combat dumping

Starting in 2013, four regional councils (Hauts-de-France, Centre-Val de Loire, Occitanie and Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur) distributed to their members a method of calculating fees in order to combat an alleged dumping by certain architects described as “anti-collegial”. The president of the conseil regional de l'ordre Centre-Val de Loire thus declared "it is disloyal compared to the other colleagues who bid for this contract because he made a price too low. Making a price too low to make sure of winning a contract is an anticompetitive and disloyal practice to colleagues ".

In order to combat these “acts of unfair competition”, the Ordre, through its regional councils, deflected the purpose of the guide for the Interministerial Mission for the Quality of Public Buildings (MIQCP) - intended to help public authorities evaluate the estimated budget for project management fees - by using this document as a reference to calculate architects' fees, and by encouraging architects to fix their fees according to the ranges recommended by the guide without taking into account their actual costs.
 

A “fee policy” to ensure compliance with instructions


In order to ensure compliance with the fee instructions thus issued to architects, the Ordre des Architectes organised a monitoring of compliance with the “schedule”.

Its national council adopted and distributed a standard form to facilitate referral to the regional disciplinary boards in the event an architect applied fees considered to be particularly low.

Its Hauts-de-France regional council also created an association specifically dedicated to identifying irregularities related to fees in the framework of responses to calls for tender. A website was thus created to enable architects whose bids were rejected to report the allegedly excessively low fees charged by their colleagues chosen for the tender.

The regional councils also increased the number of pre-litigation and litigation proceedings against architects who did not comply with fee instructions.

Several architectural firms and architects, for their part, adhered to this fee policy by denouncing to the regional councils the fee applied by their winning colleagues.

Lastly, the regional councils had numerous unwarranted contacts with public contracting authorities, unlawfully alerting them to the “risks”, both legal and technical, which, in their opinion, would result from negotiating excessively low fees with architects, and encouraging them to relaunch the procedures and sometimes even abandoning the construction of the public building.

Practices with real effects

Architects suspected of offering too low a fee were subject to pre-disciplinary and disciplinary proceedings, in some cases involving sanctions (reprimand or temporary suspension).

The Ordre's various contacts with public contracting authorities discouraged some communities from choosing architects offering moderate fees and, in some cases, called into question contracts already awarded or under negotiation, resulting in an additional expenditure of public funds to the detriment of the taxpayer.

For example, in the Hauts-de-France region, the low-income housing association in Douai terminated a framework agreement after being contacted by the Ordre's regional council; the community of municipalities of 2 Sources discontinued the contract for its educational complex “in the face of criticism from the Ordre” and had to relaunch its call for tenders, thus incurring an additional cost of €200,000; the municipality of Linselles, for its part, was repeatedly threatened with litigation by the Ordre's regional council if it failed to change its plan to build a school; and, finally, the award of the dojo project for the municipality of Hazebrouck was appealed to the administrative court by the same regional council.


These practices by a professional association are serious

The practices concerned are all the more serious since they were undertaken by the Ordre des Architectes, the initiator and principal abettor of the agreement, while it benefited from undeniable moral authority both among its members and public contracting authorities. These practices have moreover affected local authorities responsible for public funds, often of modest size and with limited ability to invest.
On the other hand, with regard to the architects and architectural firms in question, the Autorité held that the Ordre's institutional communication could have caused confusion among those professionals as to their ethical obligations concerning the fixing of fees.

In light of all these aspects, the Autorité imposed a fine of €1.5 million on the Ordre des Architectes and fined each architect and architectural firm that participated in the agreement, as well as the association of architects affiliated with the Ordre's regional council in Hauts-de-France, €1. The decision may be appealed before the Paris Court of Appeal.

The investigation continues in other regions of France

The investigation reports sent by the DGCCRF for this case concerned four of the eighteen regions of France.

Architects and public authorities who believe they have suffered similar practices in other regions of France are invited to report this to the general rapporteur of the Autorité de la concurrence at the following address: Contact

 

infography 19-D-19

Contacts

Bertille Gauthier
Bertille Gauthier
Communications Officer

L'Autorité de la concurrence sanctionne l'Ordre des architectes pour entente

Publié le 01 octobre 2019

Architectes

L’Autorité de la concurrence sanctionne l’Ordre des architectes pour avoir diffusé et rendu obligatoire un barème d’honoraires que les architectes devaient appliquer dans leurs réponses aux marchés publics de maîtrise d’œuvre.

L'essentiel

À la suite de rapports d'enquête transmis par la Direction Générale de la Concurrence, de la Consommation et de la Répression des Fraudes (DGCCRF), l'Autorité rend aujourd'hui une décision par laquelle elle sanctionne, à hauteur de 1,5 million d'euros, l'Ordre des architectes pour avoir, via ses conseils régionaux des Hauts-de-France, du Centre-Val de Loire, d'Occitanie et de Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, mis en œuvre des pratiques anticoncurrentielles. Celles-ci ont consisté à mettre en place, diffuser et faire respecter un barème d'honoraires applicables aux architectes intervenant dans les marchés de maîtrise d'œuvre publics, dans un secteur où la fixation des honoraires est libre. La diffusion de ce barème s'est accompagnée d'une « police des prix », de mesures de rétorsion à l'endroit des architectes ne respectant pas ces consignes tarifaires, et d'interventions auprès des maîtres d'ouvrages publics afin de les dissuader de passer des marchés avec des architectes proposant des taux d'honoraires considérés « trop faibles ». L'Ordre a, par ailleurs, diffusé par l'intermédiaire de son conseil national un modèle-type de saisine des chambres régionales de discipline à l'attention des conseils régionaux, en cas de non-respect par un architecte ou une société d'architecture du barème illicite ainsi mis en place.

L'Autorité sanctionne également, à hauteur d'un euro, plusieurs sociétés d'architecture ou architectes ainsi qu'une association d'architectes ayant participé à cette entente par le biais de dénonciations à l'Ordre de leurs confrères qui  ne respectaient par ce « barème d'honoraires ».

L'activité de maîtrise d'œuvre publique


L'activité de maîtrise d'œuvre  publique consiste à réaliser, pour le compte d'un maître d'ouvrage public (commune, communauté de communes, département…), un projet de travaux dans des conditions de délais, de qualité et/ou de coûts prédéfinies par un cahier des charges.

Lorsqu'ils exercent en qualité de maître d'œuvre, les architectes sont chargés par ce maître d'ouvrage public de concevoir le projet, d'élaborer le dossier de consultation des entreprises, de contrôler la bonne exécution des travaux ainsi que de jouer un rôle d'interface avec les entreprises chargées d'exécuter les travaux. Leurs honoraires sont libres et non réglementés par la puissance publique, ce qui permet de faire jouer la concurrence sur le marché.


La diffusion de consignes de prix pour lutter contre le « dumping »


À partir de 2013, quatre conseils régionaux (Hauts-de-France, Centre-Val de Loire, Occitanie et Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur) ont diffusé à leurs  membres une méthode de calcul d'honoraires, afin de lutter contre un prétendu « dumping des honoraires » de certains architectes qualifiés « d'anti-confraternels ». Le président du conseil régional de l'ordre Centre-Val de Loire a ainsi déclaré « c'est déloyal par rapport aux autres confrères qui ont répondu à ce marché car il a fait un prix trop bas. Faire un prix trop bas pour être sûr d'avoir un marché est une pratique anticoncurrentielle et déloyale vis-à-vis des confrères ».

Pour lutter contre ces soi-disant « actes de concurrence déloyale », l'Ordre, via ses conseils régionaux, a notamment détourné de sa finalité le guide de la Mission interministérielle pour la qualité des constructions publiques (MIQCP) - destiné aux collectivités publiques pour les aider à évaluer l'enveloppe prévisionnelle des honoraires de maîtrise d'œuvre -, en érigeant ce document en référence du calcul des honoraires des architectes, et en incitant ces derniers à fixer leurs honoraires selon les fourchettes préconisées par le guide, sans prise en compte de leurs coûts réels.


Une « police des honoraires » pour s'assurer du respect des consignes


Pour s'assurer du respect des consignes tarifaires ainsi diffusées auprès des architectes, une surveillance du respect du « barème » a été organisée par l'Ordre des architectes.
Son conseil national a adopté et diffusé un modèle-type, destiné à faciliter la saisine des chambres régionales de discipline en cas d'application par un architecte de taux d'honoraires considérés comme particulièrement faibles.

Son conseil régional des Hauts-de-France a, par ailleurs, créé une association spécifiquement dédiée à l'identification des irrégularités liées aux taux d'honoraires, dans le cadre des réponses à des appels d'offres. Un site internet a ainsi été créé pour permettre aux architectes dont l'offre a été écartée de signaler les taux prétendument trop bas pratiqués par leurs confrères retenus lors de l'appel d'offres.
Les conseils régionaux ont également multiplié les procédures précontentieuses et contentieuses visant les architectes ne respectant pas les consignes tarifaires.

Plusieurs sociétés d'architecture et architectes ont, de leur côté, adhéré à cette police de prix, en dénonçant aux conseils régionaux compétents le taux d'honoraire pratiqué par leurs confrères mieux-disants.
Les conseils régionaux ont, enfin, multiplié les interventions indues auprès des maîtres d'ouvrage publics, les alertant illégitimement des « risques », aussi bien au  plan contentieux que technique, qui auraient, selon eux, découlé de la négociation de taux d'honoraires trop faibles avec les architectes, et les incitant à relancer les procédures et même parfois à renoncer à l'opération de construction du bâtiment public.


Des pratiques aux effets concrets


Les architectes soupçonnés d'avoir proposé des honoraires trop faibles ont fait l'objet de procédure pré-disciplinaires et disciplinaires donnant lieu, dans certains cas, à des sanctions (blâmes ou radiations temporaires).

Les diverses interventions de l'Ordre auprès des maîtres d'ouvrages publics ont découragé certaines collectivités de choisir des architectes proposant des honoraires modérés et ont, dans certains cas, remis en cause des marchés déjà passés ou en cours de négociation, entraînant une dépense supplémentaire de deniers publics au détriment du contribuable.

Ainsi, à titre d'exemples, dans les Hauts-de-France, l'organisme HLM de Douai a résilié un accord-cadre à la suite de l'intervention du conseil régional de l'Ordre ; la Communauté de communes des 2 Sources a déclaré le marché de son groupe scolaire sans suite « face aux reproches de l'ordre » et a dû relancer son appel d'offres, subissant de ce fait un surcoût de 200 000 euros ; la commune de Linselles,  quant à elle, s'est vue à plusieurs reprises menacée d'un contentieux par le conseil régional de l'ordre si elle maintenait en l'état son projet de construction d'une école ; enfin, l'attribution du projet de dojo de la commune d'Hazebrouck a fait l'objet d'un recours du même conseil régional devant le tribunal administratif.


Ces pratiques mises en place par un ordre professionnel sont graves


Les pratiques concernées sont d'autant plus graves qu'elles ont été mises en œuvre par l'Ordre des architectes, initiateur et principal instigateur de l'entente, alors qu'il jouit d'une autorité morale indéniable, aussi bien auprès de ses membres que des maîtres d'ouvrage publics. Par ailleurs, ces pratiques ont affecté des collectivités territoriales engageant des deniers publics, souvent de taille modeste et aux capacités d'investissement limitées.

En revanche, concernant les architectes et les sociétés d'architecture mis en cause, l'Autorité a retenu que la communication institutionnelle de l'Ordre avait pu engendrer chez ces professionnels une confusion quant à leurs obligations déontologiques en matière de fixation d'honoraires.

Au regard de l'ensemble de ces éléments, l'Autorité a prononcé une amende de 1,5 M€ à l'encontre de l'Ordre des architectes et sanctionné à hauteur de 1 € chaque architecte et société d'architecture ayant participé à l'entente, ainsi que l'association d'architectes émanant du Conseil régionale des Hauts-de-France. Cette décision peut faire l'objet d'un recours devant la Cour d'appel de Paris.

 

L'enquête se poursuit dans d'autres régions de France


Les rapports d'enquête transmis par la DGCCRF dans le cadre de ce dossier concernaient quatre des dix-huit régions françaises.

Les architectes et collectivités publiques qui estimeraient avoir subi des pratiques similaires dans d'autres régions de France sont invités à le signaler au rapporteur général de l'Autorité de la concurrence à l'adresse suivante Mel.

infographie 19-D-19

Contacts

Yannick Le Dorze
Yannick Le Dorze
Adjoint au chef du service communication