8th October 2002 : Three new members of the Conseil de la concurrence were appointed

Published on July 17, 2003

> Version Française

Mrs Françoise Aubert and Mrs Marie-Madeleine Renard-Payen, from the French Supreme Court *(Cour de Cassation*), were appointed, by decree, members of *the Conseil de la concurrence,* on September 30, 2002.

They replace Mrs Agnès Mouillard and Mr Pierre Bargue, who for reasons of availability, asked to be released from their functions at the *Conseil de la concurrence*.

Mr Bruno Flichy, CEO of the French bank *Credit du Nord*, was also appointed member of the *Conseil de la concurrence* by the same decree. He replaces Mrs Flüry-Herard, who joined the French Audiovisual Regulatory Authority (CSA) on April 3 of this year.

Note

The Conseil de la concurrence has 17 members drawn from three categories:

 8 members (such as Mrs Françoise Aubert and Mrs Marie-Madeleine Renard-Payen and inevitably the Chairperson and two vice-Chairpersons) come from a first category consisting of members - or former members - of the French Council of State (Conseil d'Etat), the French Supreme Court (Conseil d'Etat), the French State Audit Office (Cour des comptes) or other Administrative or Civil Courts, 4 members are from a second category comprising experts in competition and consumer affairs,

• 5 members (such as Mr Bruno Flichy) stem from a third category made up of professionals from production, distribution, craft trades, services or the legal profession.

The members of the Conseil de la concurrence are appointed for a renewable six-year period on the recommendation of the Minister of Economy.