5th October 2004 : Françoise Aubert and Anne Perrot appointed Vice-Chairpersons of the Conseil de la concurrence

Published on October 08, 2004

> Version française

By a decree of the French President dated 7th September 2004 (published in the Official Journal of the French Republic on 8th September 2004), **Mrs Françoise Aubert**, an appeal judge at the Cour de cassation (Supreme Court), has been appointed Vice-Chairperson of the Conseil de la concurrence. Having been a member of the Conseil since September 2002, Mrs Françoise Aubert was appointed from among the "members or former members of the Conseil d'État (Administrative Supreme Court), the Cour de cassation (Supreme Court), the Cour des comptes (Court of Accounts) or other criminal and administrative courts" (art. L. 461-1-II-1° of the code de commerce [French code of commercial law]). She replaces Mrs Micheline Pasturel, who had previously occupied the position since 1998.

Born in August 1938 and with a bachelor's degree in law, Mrs Françoise Aubert worked first as a judge's assistant, and then as a judge at the Le Havre ordinary court of first instance. Having worked on secondment as a Library and Documentation administrator at the Court of Justice of the European Communities (1966-1974), she joined the Paris ordinary court of first instance in 1974. She then moved on to the central administration of the Ministry of Justice, where between 1976 and 1983 she sat as a civil judge, then as first substitute. In 1986, she was appointed an appeal judge at the Paris Court of Appeal, then President of Chamber (1992). In 1994, she became an appeal judge at the Cour de cassation, where she was assigned first to the Social Law Chamber, then to the Commercial, Economic and Financial Law Chamber, of which she became

Senior Judge in 2003. Before being appointed a member of the Conseil de la concurrence, Mrs Françoise Aubert also chaired the Commission nationale des commissaires aux comptes (National Commission of Auditors).

By a decree dated 7th September 2004 (published in the Official Journal of the French Republic on 8th September 2004), **Mrs Pierrette Pinot** has been appointed a member of the Conseil de la concurrence, from among the "members or former members of the Conseil d'État (Administrative Supreme Court), the Cour de cassation (Supreme Court), the Cour des comptes (Court of Accounts) or other criminal and administrative courts" (art. L. 461-1-II-1° of the code de commerce). Appointed President of Chamber at the Paris ordinary court of first instance in 1996, Madame Pierrette Pinot has been an appeal judge at the Cour de cassation since 2000.

By a decree of the French President dated 29th September 2004 (published in the Official Journal of the French Republic on 30th September 2004), **Mrs Anne Perrot**, an economics professor, has been appointed Vice-Chairperson of the Conseil de la concurrence. She replaces Mr Frédéric Jenny, who had previously held the position since March 1993.

Born in June 1958, Mrs Anne Perrot holds doctorates in both mathematics (1982) and economics (1986). Having gained France's highest teaching qualification for economics (1987), she worked first as lecturer at Paris I University, then as a professor (since 1991). In 1995, she went on secondment as a professor at the CREST (Centre for Research in Economics and Statistics), before taking charge of the CREST's industrial economics research institute (since 1997). A professor at the ENSAE (National Institute of Statistics and Economic Administration) since 2002, she has also been a member of the Economic Advisory Group for competition policy since December 2003. Mrs Anne Perrot has been a member of the Conseil since June 1999, having been "chosen for [her] competence in economics or in competition and consumption" (art. L. 461-1-II-2° of the code de commerce).

For information, the Conseil de la concurrence has seventeen members, drawn

from three different collegial boards. Its members are appointed by decree for a period of six years (art. L. 461-1-I of the code de commerce) and their mandate is irrevocable. The Chairperson and the three Vice-Chairpersons are permanent positions.